Maximum Review- Not That Kind of Girl

20588698

Book: Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She’s “Learned” by Lena Dunham

Publisher: Random House

Published Date: September 30th, 2014

Pages: 265

Source/Format: Bought || Hardcover


Summary (from Goodreads): In Not that Kind of Girl, Dunham illuminates the experiences that are part of making one’s way in the world: falling in love, feeling alone, being ten pounds overweight despite eating only health food, having to prove yourself in a room full of men twice your age, finding true love, and, most of all, having the guts to believe that your story is one that deserves to be told.

Exuberant, moving, and keenly observed, Not that Kind of Girl is a series of dispatches from the frontlines of the struggle that is growing up. “I’m already predicting my future shame at thinking I had anything to offer you,” Dunham writes. “But if I can take what I’ve learned and make one menial job easier for you, or prevent you from having the kind of sex where you feel you must keep your sneakers on in case you want to run away during the act, then every misstep of mine will have been worthwhile.”

For a quick summary of what I think and if I recommend this book, check out the Final Thoughts section!

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 9.23.54 AM

It Matches Up With Her TV Show

First off, I love Lena Dunham. Girls on HBO is one of my favorite TV shows. I have always found that i could relate to Dunham’s character Hannah, so reading this book and seeing that her TV show is based on of her real experiences made everything fit into place. It made me as a fan feel more… justified, I guess you could say, as to why I liked the show and why I found it relatable.

The Style

It is written in such a cool and fun style. It is very captivating for a collection of essays. Dunham is a story-teller. This comes across in her essays, her TV show, her interviews. This book totally solidified that the way she talks and interprets her life is very unique and special.

The Way She is so Open

She did not hold anything back, and I loved it. Hearing her struggles from a really raw perspective was eye-opening. I would be reading on the train and have to hold back a laugh because she is so blatantly honest. She is so open about what it is like to be a young female in our society, and especially in New York City.

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 9.59.21 AM

Nothing it was wonderful.

#Feminism

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 2.45.46 PM

Lena has learned a lot

She writes with such humor and grace

What a story to tell

Screen Shot 2014-11-24 at 9.26.20 AM

  • I Recommend this book
  • If you haven’t read many essays before, this is a great one to start with
  • WATCH GIRLS
  • This book is really awesome because is talks about feminism in a way that is sort of ignored by our society.

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 7.51.47 PM

4 stars

Screen Shot 2014-11-16 at 3.18.42 PM

Who watches Girls? DID YOU SEE THE MATCHING UP? I KNOW I DID!!!!! 😀

Sincerely,

Max

Leave a Reply

