Maximum Review- Love and Other Perishable Items

24770868

Book: Love and Other Perishable Items by Laura Buzo

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

Published Date: December 11th, 2012

Pages: 243

Source/Format: Borrowed from the Library || Hardcover


Summary (from Goodreads): ‘Miss Amelia Hayes, welcome to The Land of Dreams. I am the staff trainer. I will call you grasshopper and you will call me sensei and I will give you the good oil. Right? And just so you know, I’m open to all kinds of bribery.’
From the moment 15-year-old Amelia begins work on the checkout at Coles she is sunk, gone, lost…head-over-heels in love with Chris. Chris is the funny, charming, man-about-Woolies, but he’s 21, and the 6-year difference in their ages may as well be 100. Chris and Amelia talk about everything from Second Wave Feminism to Great Expectations and Alien but will he ever look at her in the way she wants him to? And if he does, will it be everything she hopes?

For a quick summary of what I think and if I recommend this book, check out the Final Thoughts section!

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 9.23.54 AM

It Wasn’t A Love Story

The title is very misleading. If you are looking for a book to give you all of the feels, then this is not it. This book is full of tough moments, some grown up words of advice, and a lot of personal growth, but not heavily romance. I really think that this book encompasses the true meaning of a contemporary, coming of age, young adult novel. There is a strong emphasis on friendship and relationship building, as well as trying to fit in. I enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I was going to when I first started reading.

It Is Relatable 

Everyone knows how it feels to be young and have a crush on someone older, whether it be your older brother’s friend or your camp counscelor, we have all been there. Amelia is such a relatable character, who we all see a little bit of ourself in. You feel along with her as she is starting to grow up and has so many firsts. Her first kiss, her first party, her first job. My favorite development with her was watching her realize that boys her own age were immature and found that after spending so much time at the Cole’s, making friends at school was a challenge. As someone who has had issues like this in the past, seeing the way that she handled the situation was awesome.

The Characters 

The character’s were so vibrant! I could tell that each of them were unique and had their own personality that you could relate to your own life. I especially really loved Chris. Shoutout to this book being duel perspective! I loved loved loved all of Chris’ journal entries. He is bright, light-hearted, but also serious and thoughtful. He is very secure with himself, which I as the reader appreciated a lot.

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 9.59.21 AM

There Wasn’t Enough of Chris’ Side

I thought that Chris’ input and thoughts needed to be showcased more because his POV was the BOMB.COM. I was more interested in how he thought about Amelia’s whole crush, because we always here stories, or have personal experiences with liking someone older, but you rarely get to hear the other persons side of the story. I thought all of Chris’ points were super valid and important, it added a lot of reality and depth to the story. I just wish his chapters followed along a little better with what Amelia was talking about.

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 2.45.46 PM

Amelia likes Chris

The relationship is small

Well written and fun

Screen Shot 2014-11-24 at 9.26.20 AM

  • I Recommend this book
  • If you love duel POV then this is a solid read
  • Its a unique book, it has a good message and strong story
  • Sweet, short, and to the point.

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 7.51.47 PM

4 stars

Screen Shot 2014-11-16 at 3.18.42 PM

This was pretty enjoyable! If you are looking for a nice pick me up read than check it out.

Sincerely,

Max

Leave a Reply

