Challenge Thursday- Perks of Rereading

Hi everyone! As I mentioned in my first post of the year, I have decided to participate in 4 challenges this year. Every Thursday I will be updating you on my progress with one these challenges.  

imageedit_3_6019177593_zps79fb71fd

The Re-Read Challenge is hosted by Kelly and Hannah. The goal of the challenge is to Re-read books that you love, or feel need a second chance. Every month I will be re-reading a book and posting a bit about it. I haven’t done any re-reads in a while, so I am very excited for this challenge! Stay posted with me on my progress!

January Book: The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chobsky

22628

Publisher: MTV Books

Pages: 213

Published: January 1st, 1999

Source: Bought || Paperback

What It’s About: (From Goodreads): Charlie is a freshman.

And while he’s not the biggest geek in the school, he is by no means popular. Shy, introspective, intelligent beyond his years yet socially awkward, he is a wallflower, caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it.

Charlie is attempting to navigate his way through uncharted territory: the world of first dates and mix tapes, family dramas and new friends; the world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite. But he can’t stay on the sideline forever. Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor.

When I first read…

I felt that I had to read the book because of the hype around it. I read it way before the movie came out, but I knew that there was a movie in the making. I thought I was going to be so cool and hip because kids on tumblr quoted it and stuff (lol).

What I remember…

is absolutely loving the book. I totally thought that all of the characters were relatable, true, and remarkable. The book made me think about life in a really different way.

Why I wanted to reread again

I loved this book so much, but I kinda forgot exactly why I loved it. I also recently just bought the book and really needed a good excuse to break it in!

How I felt after rereading

Ahhh and the feels come back.

Would I reread again?

Yeah I would. This book is so thought provoking and really beautiful. It discusses issues that are so truthful and relatable.

Have any of you read this book? I think that it should be required reading in school lol

Sincerely,

Max

Leave a Reply

