Maximum Review- The Cure for Dreaming

Screen Shot 2015-01-14 at 9.20.24 AM

17841138

Book: The Cure for Dreaming by Cat Winters

Publisher: Amulet Books

Published Date: October 14th, 2014

Pages: 352

Source/Format: Borrowed from the Library || Hardcover


Summary (from Goodreads): Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in Oregon, and Olivia’s father, concerned that she’s headed for trouble, convinces a stage mesmerist to try to hypnotize the rebellion out of her. But the hypnotist, an intriguing young man named Henri Reverie, gives her a terrible gift instead: she’s able to see people’s true natures, manifesting as visions of darkness and goodness, while also unable to speak her true thoughts out loud. These supernatural challenges only make Olivia more determined to speak her mind, and so she’s drawn into a dangerous relationship with the hypnotist and his mysterious motives, all while secretly fighting for the rights of women.

For a quick summary of what I think and if I recommend this book, check out the Final Thoughts section!

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 9.23.54 AM

F-Yeah Feminism

The best part of the book was how much of a freethinker Olivia was. I loved her character and the way that she was unafraid to speak of her beliefs. I also enjoy any book with Suffragets are included. I thought that this was such a huge driving force of the book. I knew it was going to be a major aspect, but I didn’t think it would be THIS major, and I loved it!

The Character Development Was Spectacular

I loved watching Olivia grow into a strong young woman. I thought that the supporting characters were a huge part of that process and were all written well. I really loved how she really matured and grew into herself and her ideas with the help of Henry.

I Love Period/Historical Fiction Books

I love history in general. I love the extra boost of context that they have. I thought that this book did a great job of totally being fiction, but having a historical context that was easy to understand and relate to. I also really liked how there were quotes throughout the book from women who were huge parts of the suffragist movement.

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 9.59.21 AM

It Wasn’t Creepy

I was super looking forward to how creepy this book was going to be. The little blurbs on the back said that it was “haunting” and “chilling”, but I really do not think it was at all. Maybe if Olivia had a specific experience being hypnotized then it would have been creepier, but in general I found the stuff that was suppose to be creepy as just normal story elements.

I Wanted To Know More About Henrie 

I loved Henry/Henrie so much! He was forward thinking, young, hip, cool, omg I would have been all over him. I really wish we learned a little more about him! I want a whole book just about his life!

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 2.45.46 PM

Liv is a strange girl

Henry helps her release her thoughts

Suffragettes are the best

Screen Shot 2014-11-24 at 9.26.20 AM

  • I recommend this book
  • This book is a really good Historical fiction book for people who usually read paranormal/fantasy. Its a really good transition that wouldn’t be too out of your comfort zone.
  • HENRY IS BAE

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 7.51.47 PM

Screen Shot 2014-11-16 at 3.18.42 PM

Unknown

What did you think of The Cure for Dreaming? Do you like historical fiction as much as I do? 

Sincerely,

Max

Leave a Reply

