Maximum Review- Say What You Will

Screen Shot 2015-01-12 at 6.00.16 PM

18599754

Book: Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern

Publisher: HarperTeen

Published Date: June 3rd, 2014

Pages: 343

Source/Format: Borrowed from the Library || Hardcover


Summary (from Goodreads):Born with cerebral palsy, Amy can’t walk without a walker, talk without a voice box, or even fully control her facial expressions. Plagued by obsessive-compulsive disorder, Matthew is consumed with repeated thoughts, neurotic rituals, and crippling fear. Both in desperate need of someone to help them reach out to the world, Amy and Matthew are more alike than either ever realized.

When Amy decides to hire student aides to help her in her senior year at Coral Hills High School, these two teens are thrust into each other’s lives. As they begin to spend time with each other, what started as a blossoming friendship eventually grows into something neither expected.

For a quick summary of what I think and if I recommend this book, check out the Final Thoughts section!

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 9.23.54 AM

The Characters and Character Development

I loved both Amy and Matthew! I thought that their friendship was so beautiful and realistic, something that I usually do not get out of books about disabilities. The way that Amy helps Matthew through his problems and helps him grow and vice versa is amazing. Besides the fact that this book had one of the most out of the blue plot twists I have ever seen, I felt so enthralled and invested in the characters, I just had to keep reading.

Amy Being Handicapped Wasn’t the Only Focus

I picked up the book because I thought it would be diverse, and it was, but it was more than that. I loved that Amy was not all about her handicap. She was a real teenage girl, with real issues, and was totally relatable, which is something I wasn’t expecting.

The Romance and the Friendship

It was just so sweet! I want a guy like Matthew!

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 9.59.21 AM

Plot Twists Were Way To Ridiculous 

Read the book! Let me know if you agree! It’s not that the plot twist was bad, it was just a little to out there for me. I still enjoyed what it brought to the book!

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 2.45.46 PM

Amy and Matthew

Become friends by some chance

The Best friend support

Screen Shot 2014-11-24 at 9.26.20 AM

  • I recommend this book
  • I really enjoyed it! There are some beautiful lines and it is so well written.
  • I think this is a really important diverse book

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 7.51.47 PM

Screen Shot 2014-11-16 at 3.18.42 PM

Unknown

What did you think of Say What You Will? I really loved it!

Sincerely,

Max

Leave a Reply

