Challenge Thursday- Diverse Even in Death

Hi everyone! As I mentioned in my first post of the year, I have decided to participate in 4 challenges this year. Every Thursday I will be updating you on my progress with one these challenges.  

DiversityDive-Challenge-Button

The Dive Into Diversity reading challenge is hosted by Reading Wishes and Rather Be Reading. The goal of the challenge is to read more books then you normally would about diverse characters and situations to further out understand and recognize diversity. I am so excited to participate in this challenge! Its very simple, every month you read a “Diverse” book, any book that you want. I will be talking about the book I chose each month and the diversity with in it!

January Book: More Than This by Patrick Ness

21969786

Publisher: Walker Books Ltd.

Pages: 480

Published: September 1st, 2013

Source: Borrowed from Library || Paperback (It’s brand new and I am the first one to read this copy :’))

What It’s About: (From Goodreads) A boy drowns, desperate and alone in his final moments. He dies.

Then he wakes, naked and bruised and thirsty, but alive.

How can this be? And what is this strange deserted place?

As he struggles to understand what is happening, the boy dares to hope. Might this not be the end? Might there be more to this life, or perhaps this afterlife?

Why is it Diverse?

Our main character, Seth, had a secret relationship with his friend. There is a solid chuck of the book where he is remembering what happened when his parents found out that he was having a relationship with another male. It also discusses how the people around reacted to this reveal.

Why Did I Choose This Book?

Honestly, I chose this book because it was on my TBR without even realizing that it included diverse themes. This book seemed mysterious and fun, and it really is!

Thoughts on The Book

I really loved how suspenseful and mysterious this book was! When it comes to the diverse themes, I really appreciated how the fact that the main character was gay was not the main focus of the book. I feel that recently there have been a lot of books where gay people are made out to be characters, not real people. I am not sure if that made sense because of the fact that this is a book we are talking about…. well then. All in all, I like this book a lot. The personal issues that Seth goes through seem so real and relatable.

Have any of you read this book? I really like the cover! 

Sincerely,

Max

Leave a Reply

