Maximum Review- A Blind Spot for Boys Review

Screen Shot 2015-01-08 at 8.23.38 PM

18607157

Book: A Blind Spot for Boys by Justina Chen

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Published Date: March 1st, 2014

Pages: 358

Source/Format: Borrowed from the Library || Paperback


Summary (from Goodreads):Sixteen-year-old Shana Wilde is officially on a Boy Moratorium. After a devastating breakup, she decides it’s time to end the plague of Mr. Wrong, Wrong, and More Wrong.
Enter Quattro, the undeniably cute lacrosse player who slams into Shana one morning in Seattle. Sparks don’t just fly; they ignite. And so does Shana’s interest. Right as she’s about to rethink her ban on boys, she receives crushing news: Her dad is going blind. Quattro is quickly forgotten, and Shana and her parents vow to make the most of the time her father has left to see. So they travel to Machu Picchu, and as they begin their trek, they run into none other than Quattro himself. But even as the trip unites them, Quattro pulls away mysteriously…

For a quick summary of what I think and if I recommend this book, check out the Final Thoughts section!

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 9.23.54 AM

It Gave me Wanderlust!

After reading this book I desperatly wanted to travel! Well, I was on a plane while reading it, but the way it talked about backpacking and Machu Picchu was so awesome and beautiful.

The Swoon Moments Were Awesome

I love swoon moments in book, especially if they are done well. I thought that this book had some really awesome moments with Shana and Quattro. I thought that they complemented each other really well. Also, their make out scene was on point.

It Was Emotional

I was really surprised by this book. I was expecting a sweet, easy read, but it was so much more then that. There were characters who were so wise and offered Shana such amazing advice and guidance. A lot of the conversation they had with one another were deep and had a huge influence on character development, which I love a lot.

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 9.59.21 AM

Shana

I found her so annoying. I am a sucker for character development, but hers was totally unimpressive and uninspiring. I thought that the way she couldn’t even bring herself to move on from an old relationship, which we know was so toxic from the start was crazy and unrealistic. I thought that the way she treated Quattro was not loving a lot of the time, also I feel like even though I just read a whole book about her, I don’t even know her.

The Writing Style

I always take 100 pages to decide if I am going to finish a book that I am feeling iffy about when reading. I thought that Chen’s writing style was interesting. I can’t really put my finger on it, but I didn’t love it. I was going to actually put the book down after 100 pages, but decided to plow through it since it was finally starting to pick up pace. I think the problem with the style was that it wasn’t realistic enough for me at parts.

The Pacing

This goes with the last point and is another reason I wanted to put down the book. The beginning was pretty interesting, but after about 20 pages I thought it was just not exciting. Not that nothing was happening, it was all just not written in a way that made me want to see what was going to happen next

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 2.45.46 PM

Shana and Quattro

Go on a wild adventure

Shana is real dull

Screen Shot 2014-11-24 at 9.26.20 AM

  • This book was fine.
  • I did end up liking it
  • The romance was Swoon worthy! That was the best part of the book
  • If you are looking for a book about traveling and the beauty of it, this is a good pick for you!

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 7.51.47 PM

Screen Shot 2014-11-16 at 3.18.42 PM

Unknown

What did you think of A Blind Spot for Boys?

Leave a Reply

