Maximum Review- My Life With the Walter Boys

Screen Shot 2015-01-06 at 3.46.31 PM

13580846

Book: My Life With The Walter Boys by Ali Novak

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Published Date: March 1st, 2014

Pages: 358

Source/Format: Borrowed from the Library || Paperback


Summary (from Goodreads):Jackie does not like surprises. Chaos is the enemy! The best way to get her successful, busy parents to notice her is to be perfect. The perfect look, the perfect grades-the perfect daughter. And then…

Surprise #1: Jackie’s family dies in a freak car accident.

Surprise #2: Jackie has to move cross-country to live with the Walters-her new guardians.

Surprise #3: The Walters have twelve sons. (Well, eleven, but Parker acts like a boy anyway)

Now Jackie must trade in her Type A personality and New York City apartment for a Colorado ranch and all the wild Walter boys who come with it. Jackie is surrounded by the enemy-loud, dirty, annoying boys who have no concept of personal space. Okay, several of the oldest guys are flat-out gorgeous. But still annoying. She’s not stuck-up or boring-no matter what they say. But proving it is another matter. How can she fit in and move on when she needs to keep her parents’ memory alive by living up to the promise of perfect?

For a quick summary of what I think and if I recommend this book, check out the Final Thoughts section!

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 9.23.54 AM

It Was A Wattpad Story First

For those of you who have never heard of Wattpad its a website where unpublished writers can post their work. Yes, this does mean that a lot of it is Harry Styles fan fiction, but there are some really amazing stories on the site. I am a member of the Wattpad community. I don’t write recently, but I do read a ton of stories and have been since around 2011. I actually read My Life With the Walter Boys on wattled years ago, before it got edited. I was actually a little surprised when I saw that this book was getting published. I didn’t think that the story was anything spectacular, its kind of cliche, but after reading it again I remember why it was so popular in the first place. This story had a HUGE fanbase, and its amazing that that base got Ali published.

It Gave Me The Feels

I didn’t undertand how emotionally invested I was in this book until it was over! I loved a bunch of the Walter boys and came to care so much about their relationships with each other and Jackie. I wouldn’t say that the romance gave me the feels ( I was invested in one of those ships though, let me tell you that), but the emphasis on the importance of relationships did.

The Walter Boys

I just mentioned this, but the Walter boys were awesome characters! At first I was really confused because there were twelve of them and they all have basic names. Eventually (150 pages in), I got hang of it and went with it. I think that the most character development was done with the boys, and it was done well. I really enjoyed the pranks they pulled, and the parties, and the flirty remarks by Isaac and Cole. Alex was just so sweet, but had his own character development as well. I loved Nathan the most though. I thought that he played such an important role as a solid friend and source of support for Jackie. Also, shout out to my boy Lee.

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 9.59.21 AM

Jackie

Wow I really hated her. I thought she was really obnoxious and too emotional always. It really annoyed me that she would never just go with her gut on anything. She made every situation more complicated and was totally indecisive. THAT WAS THE WORST PART. Please my friends, do not deny yourself love like our dear protagonist does for 75% of the book.

It Got Slow

There are always parts of books that are slow, but I found the slow parts in this book more then just boring, but annoying. I loved hearing their interactions with each other, but when it was the boys being constantly moody as the plot development, I am not about reading that.

It Was Predictable

You know what is going to happen from the first second you meet the Walter Boys. Thats ok, I don’t mind, but eh I would have loved a bit of something a little less cliche.

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 2.45.46 PM

Jackie’s from New York

Stuck with 12 guys in one house

You know whats gonna happen!

Screen Shot 2014-11-24 at 9.26.20 AM

  • I did like this book, do not get me wrong
  • A really solid, cute, fun, contemporary read
  • Cole is hot
  • Isaac is Hot
  • Alex is hot
  • Round of applause for the beauty of the Walter Boys
  • Support wattled writers! (if the writing is good!)
  • I recommend this book

 

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 7.51.47 PM

Screen Shot 2014-11-16 at 3.18.42 PM

Unknown

What did you think of My Life With the Walter Boys? I feel a little harsh on this one, but I did enjoy reading it! 

Leave a Reply

