Maximum Review- Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

Screen Shot 2014-12-26 at 9.34.31 AM

Unknown

Book: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

Publisher: Dutton Adult

Published Date: April 14th 2011

Pages: 323

Source/Format: Borrowed from the Library || Paperback


Summary (from Goodreads): Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It’s company policy.) But they can’t quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives. Meanwhile, Lincoln O’Neill can’t believe this is his job now- reading other people’s e-mail. When he applied to be “internet security officer,” he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke.When Lincoln comes across Beth’s and Jennifer’s messages, he knows he should turn them in. But he can’t help being entertained-and captivated-by their stories.By the time Lincoln realizes he’s falling for Beth, it’s way too late to introduce himself.

For a quick summary of what I think and if I recommend this book, check out the Final Thoughts section!

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 9.23.54 AM

Lincoln’s Character Development

I loved Lincoln. I thought that he was so well described and followed throughout the story. I found the struggles that he had totally relatable and easy to sympathize and even empathize with. I really enjoyed how Rowell really stretched his character and changed him throughout the story. I guess you could say that its only because of his reactions to the emails he was reading, but I think it is much more then that. This book is so amazing because the love story (which is great) takes a backseat to Lincoln’s story. Watching him grow from an adult who has no idea what to do with his life, is unhappy, and feels completely uninvolved in the world around him, to becoming a man with a purpose, with goals, and with an idea of where his life was moving was awesome. Rowell is the queen of character development as I am beginning to learn.

The Friendship Between Jennifer and Beth

I thought that Jennifer and Beth were great! They were funny, smart, but also deep and filled with just as much character development as Lincoln. I thought that their friendship was a great representation of how the internet effects my relationships with my friends. I also loved how they were super mature with each other, even when they got into fights over touchy subjects. Well, what else should I have been expecting, this is an ADULT novel.

The Emails

Not only did I just love the emails in general, but I thought that the formatting of them were super easy to follow (Good Job!). The emails were what drove the novel in my opinion. I would be reading hoping that an email would show up soon! Beth and Jennifer were so funny and light hearted. I really enjoyed how their journalistic ways integrated their writings to one another.

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 9.59.21 AM

It’s Hard To Relate When You Are Seventeen Years Old

I’m a teenager. I couldn’t relate to much, and that made the book a little bit harder for me to get through. That is honestly my only reservation. This book is great!

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 2.45.46 PM

Lincoln saved my heart

Beth’s too cool for her own good

Throwback to 2000

Screen Shot 2014-11-24 at 9.26.20 AM

  • This book is really awesome if you only read YA and need a little help transitioning into Adult Fiction
  • I. Love. This. Book.
    • Not as much as Eleanor & Park, but a lot.
  • It was so darn cute
  • I recommend this book
  • Rainbow Rowell is a goddess

 

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 7.51.47 PM

Screen Shot 2014-11-16 at 3.18.42 PM

Unknown

What did you think of Attachments? Are you planning on reading Landline (her other adult novel)? If you are a teen/ young adult who read this book did you feel the same way I did about reliability for the most part?

Leave a Reply

