2014 End of Year Book Survey

2014-end-of-year-book-survey-1024x984

This survey is hosted by Perpetual Page Turner! Check her out!

Its is that time of the year! New challenges, yearly wrap ups, and of course, reflection. Jamie has put out her end of the year survey which I will be participating in! Yay! Also, this is a super cute banner! So, lets get started

Screen Shot 2014-12-18 at 12.02.08 PM

Number of Books You Read: 53

Number of Re-Reads: 3

Genre You Read the Most From: YA Contemporary 

Screen Shot 2014-12-18 at 12.04.29 PM

Best Book You Read in 2014?

Unknown-1

You all know I love this book with all of my heart and soul.

Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going to Love More but Didn’t?

Unknown

Zac & Mia by A.J Betts– Stop saying books are a mix of John Green and Rainbow Rowell!!! It is always a constant disappointment!

Most Surprising in a (Good and Bad Way) Book You Read in 2014?

Good

Unknown-1

Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith– I read this book only because it was written by Andrew Smith. The story did not interest me at all, but I really really liked it in the end!

Bad

Unknown-2

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl By Jesse Andrews– I read this book because a Booktuber I liked a lot recommended it so highly, but it was not for me.

Book You Pushed the Most People to Read (And They Did) in 2014?

Unknown-2

Winger (Winger #1) by Andrew Smith– I have convinced my sister and my best friend to read this and both of them LOVED IT! You need to read it if you haven’t yet!

Best Series You Started in 2014? Best Sequel of 2014? Best Series Ender of 2014?

Best Series

Unknown-3

Divergent By Veronica Roth– These are honestly such good reads!

Best Sequel

16101168

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins– This sequa did not disappoint! I read it in less then a day!

Best Series Ender

Unknown-1

The Death Cure (The Maze Runner #3) by James Dashner– I was not a huge fan of this book, but it did wrap up the trilogy rather nicely!

Favorite New Author You Discovered in 2014?

460x

Colleen Hoover- I know. You thought I was going to say Andrew Smith! I have decided to dedicate this spot to Colleen Hoover because I have honestly been obsessing over her books all year. I am starting to love New Adult.

Best Book from a Genre You Don’t Normally Read/ Out of Your Comfort Zone?

Unknown-4

Welcome To The Dark House by Laurie Faria Stolarz– This is the first horror book that I have ever read! I wouldn’t say that I loved it, but I enjoyed it way more then I thought I was going to!

Most Action-packed/ thrilling/ unpredictable Book of the Year?

Unknown-5

Allegiant (Divergent #3) by Veronica Roth– I did not particularly like this book, but it honestly had me on my toes the entire time! I was totally not expecting the ending!

Book You Read in 2014 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Unknown-6

Love Letters To The Dead by Ava Dellaria– This book was so hauntingly beautiful! It was an emotional read, but had some very thought provoking passages. I really enjoyed this book and am already planning on rereading it!

Favorite Cover of a Book You Read in 2014?

Unknown-6

I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson- ITS SO BEAUTIFUL

Most Memorable Character of 2014?

Sam McKenna from Rites of Passage by Joy N. Hensley- Sam is for sure one of the most dedicated, passionate, strong willed character I have ever read about. I loved hearing her story, which I eventually became super invested in. Besides the fact that this was a beautifully written book, the characters really come alive, especially Sam. I hope 2015 brings out more characters like her!

Most Beautifully Written Book read in 2014?

Unknown-6

I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson– This book, I am at a loss for words. It is written with so much thought and emotion. The words are poetic and well put together, the character descriptions are interesting and detailed. This book is all around beautiful.

Most Thought Provoking Book/ Life Changing Book of 2014?

Unknown-7

Tease by Amanda Maciel– This book was one of the toughest books I read this year. The content was very heavy and hard to read about, but I really enjoyed it. It brought out super mixed feelings and emotions when I found myself at times sympathizing with Sara, who had bullied a girl to death. I think that this book is super important for anyone to read, and it has made me rethink the way I treat others and the effects actions can have. Highly recommend this one.

Book You Can’t Believe You Waited Till 2014 To Finally Read?

Unknown-3

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins– Oh My Gosh. I cannot believe I put off reading this book for as long as I did just because I did not want to own a book that said French Kiss on the cover. When the new covers came out though, I could not resist! THEY ARE ALL SO PRETTY. Also, this book is phenomenal.

Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book Your Read in 2014?

I have a few:

And maybe what growing up really means is knowing that you don’t have to be just a character, going whichever way the story says. It’s knowing you could be the author instead.”- Ava Dellaria, Love Letters to the Dead

I knew that the particulars didn’t matter. She was my heart, she was half of me, and nothing, certainly not a few measly hundred miles, was ever going to change that.“- Morgan Matson, Since You’ve Been Gone

He made her feel like more than the sum of her parts.“- Rainbow Rowell, Eleanor & Park

Shortest & Longest Book You Read in 2014?

how-i-live-now-cover

How I live Now by Meg Rososff– 194

Unknown-2

Winger By Andrew Smith– 449 Pages

Book That Shocked You the Most?

Unknown 12.15.11 PM

The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner #2)– I was in a general state of shock and confusion while reading this book.

OTP of The Year

eleanor_and_park_by_candy8496-d6uzxjp

AYO ELEANOR AND PARK 5EVER

Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship of the Year

Unknown-8

Sloane and Emily- Since You’ve Been Gone

Favorite Book You Read in 2014 From An Author You’ve Read Previously?

………

A Book You Read in 2014 That You Read Based Solely on A Recommendation From Someone Else?

Unknown-7

Rites of Passage by Joy N. Hensley – Shoutout to the book blogging community. Y’all are on point.

Newest Fictional Crush from a Book You Read in 2014?

Unknown-9

Etienne St. Claire (Anna and the French Kiss)– WE BOTH LOVE HISTORY. AND HES BRITISH. AND HE IS PERFECT.

Best 2014 Debut You Read?

Unknown-10

Open Road Summer by Emery Lord– Oh Lord please have her next books come sooner! This book was AWESOME

Best Worldbuilding/ Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

images

The Maze Runner by James Dashner– The first book in this series was so amazing at describing the Maze and the Glade in such detail! I really felt like I could visualize every part of this world! I wish that the other books had lived up to this.

Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/ Most Fun To Read?

Unknown

A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall– You all know how much I live this book. Such a good, cute, standalone.

Book That Made You Cry or Nearly Cry in 2014?

Unknown-4

Hopeless by Colleen Hoover– This book was ridiculous. Emotional train wreck right here. I loved every second of it.

Hidden Gem of the Year?

Unknown-11

The Geography of Me and You by Jennifer E. Smith– I have not heard as much hype about this book in the blogging community, and I think it needs more recognition. This book was incredibly cute and fun. It was such a nice refreshing read!

Book That Crushed Your Soul?

Unknown-2

I was just dead. The ending killed me. I was so done, like a cookie burning in the oven.

Most Unique Book You Read in 2014?

Unknown-1

This is the strangest book I have ever read, and I loved every second of it.

Book That Made You The Most Mad?

Ok I have 2:

Unknown-13

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart– Everyone was raving about this book for SO long. I was so excited going into it and it was such a let down in my opinion. I was confused with the style, I really hated the main character, and the book was totally predictable. This book made me mad. I was so disappointed.

how-i-live-now-cover

How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff– I LOVED this movie. The book was so… blah compared to the movie. I never say that, but I can say that now.

Screen Shot 2014-12-18 at 12.31.07 PM

New Favorite Book Blog You Discovered in 2014?

I have 2!

Jamie- The Perpetual Page Turner

– Stay Bookish

Favorite Review that you Wrote in 2014?

I don’t know, I feel like I can’t have a favorite yet since I am just getting started.

Best Discussion/ Non-Review post You Had On Your Blog?

Haven’t had any yet, but I am hoping to do some in the future!

Best Event That You Participated in?

I don’t know if this is an event, but I really liked doing the Goodreads Reading Challenge! It got me motivated to start this blog!

Best Moment of bookish/blogging life in 2014?

Starting to blog! woo

Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog?

My Maze Runner Trilogy review! check it out

Post You Wish Got A Little More Love?

Honestly, any of my other reviews

Best Bookish Discover?

BOOKTUBE AND BLOGS

Did You Complete Any Reading Challenges or Goals You Had Set For Yourself At The Beginning of the Year?

Goodreads Reading Challenge!!! whoop

Screen Shot 2014-12-18 at 12.36.24 PM

Book You Didn’t Get To In 2014, But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2015?

Unknown-14

Book You Are Most Anticipating for 2015?

WINGER SEQUEL- Stand-Off!

Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

Unknown-15

Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2015?

WINGER SEQUEL- Stand-Off!

YAY! I DID THE WHOLE THING! I am curious about all of you and your surveys! Happy end of 2014! What are some resolutions you are looking to accomplish in 2015?

 

2 thoughts on “2014 End of Year Book Survey

  1. I’m so excited to see you liked Love Letters to the Dead and Rites of Passage – both are on my TBR but I haven’t gotten around to them yet! As for Winger, I’ve been thinking of getting it for my brother! Do you think it could work for a 17 year old boy who likes John Green and Markus Zusak?

    Like

    • I think that Winger is a great book for people that age! I don’t know if I would compare it to The Book Thief, but I don’t think that should be what stops you from buying it for your brother! Let me know what he thinks of it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

