Maximum Review- The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen

Screen Shot 2014-12-15 at 10.18.06 AM

Unknown

Book: The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen

Publisher: Viking Juvenile

Pages: 435

Source/Format: Borrowed from the Library || Hardcover


Summary (from Goodreads): Luke is the perfect boyfriend: handsome, kind, fun. He and Emaline have been together all through high school in Colby, the beach town where they both grew up. But now, in the summer before college, Emaline wonders if perfect is good enough. Enter Theo, a super-ambitious outsider, a New Yorker assisting on a documentary film about a reclusive local artist. Theo’s sophisticated, exciting, and, best of all, he thinks Emaline is much too smart for Colby. Emaline’s mostly-absentee father, too, thinks Emaline should have a bigger life, and he’s convinced that an Ivy League education is the only route to realizing her potential. Emaline is attracted to the bright future that Theo and her father promise. But she also clings to the deep roots of her loving mother, stepfather, and sisters. Can she ignore the pull of the happily familiar world of Colby? Emaline wants the moon and more, but how can she balance where she comes from with where she’s going?

For a quick summary of what I think and if I recommend this book, check out the Final Thoughts section!

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 9.23.54 AM

Dessen Makes The Story Relatable 

Emaline, our protagonist is, in my opinion, a very real character. She is a normal teenage girl with cliche teenage problems. She is smart, opinionated, and indecisive. She is the the definition of a confused young adult. Personally, I think the fact that Emaline is fairly boring makes her even more like a real person. Sometimes I have problems with YA characters because they are sometimes too exciting, and they do not seem real. Dessen did a really good job at making the characters interesting, but not over the top.

The Writing

Ok I know this is stupid, but I liked the writing in general. The word choice was beautiful and some of the lines melted my heart.

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 9.59.21 AM

The Pace

WOW it is such a long book and it moves so slowly. I was about 200 pages and totally not thrilled or invested in the story at all. I love Sarah Dessen, but her pacing in her writing is always something that bothers me. The Moon and More is a 435 page book and about 200 pages in, I was completely bored. It all just moved so slowly, with so little conflict or excitement. It was honestly one of the main reasons I did not finish this book.

All Things Theo

Ok, I really wanted to like Theo. He seemed super cute and nerdy, but he is so flat. The way that Emaline interacts with him is boring and not enjoyable to read about. There was absolutely no “courting” ( I use that word even though I do not like it), or chase, or any real flirting. Also, I cannot tell if Emaline actually likes him or is toying with him. Sometimes she seems into him, but then she comes out and thinks that he is annoying. I honestly could not deal with it. So much whining.

The Setting

Colby sounds awesome, but besides the little tours that Emaline took Theo on, it seemed to fall flat and be almost unimportant to the story as a whole. The fact that there is a huge subplot in the book about following a local artist who wants filmmakers to learn more about this town confused me by the lack of “Colbyness” in the book.

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 2.45.46 PM

I expected more

The characters fell very flat

I did not finish this book

Screen Shot 2014-11-24 at 9.26.20 AM

  • I did not finish this book
  • It is by far my least favorite Sarah Dessen book, but I still am a huge fan of her writing!

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 7.51.47 PM

Screen Shot 2014-12-17 at 1.24.57 PM

Ok I am really curious, does anyone feel the same way as me? I really wish I enjoyed this more!

Sincerely,

Max

Leave a Reply

