Maximum Review- The In Between by Olivia Pierce

Screen Shot 2014-11-21 at 10.19.24 AM

cover56558-medium

Book: The In Between by Olivia Pierce

Publisher: Full Fathom Five

Pages: 313

Source/Format: ARC from Netgalley (thanks!) || Ebook


Summary (from Goodreads):  Tara Jenkins and Justin Westcroft used to be childhood BFFs. Now in high school, Justin’s a popular, all-star athlete, and Tara spends her days admiring him from afar. But when Tara saves Justin from nearly drowning in a freak accident, he’s unable to get her out of his mind. In no time at all, Tara and Justin fall deeply in love. And even though it’s only high school, they seem destined for a Happily Ever After.

Until tragedy strikes—and this time, Justin’s not so lucky. Tara passes through her days as a shell of her former self: Justin’s dead, but she can still feel his presence, and she can’t seem to let him go.

But there’s a reason for that, and it’s not just grief: Justin is In Between, and he’s still holding on.

They say that when someone saves you, you’re tied to them for life. But what about in the afterlife?

For a quick summary of what I think and if I recommend this book, check out the Final Thoughts section!

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 9.23.54 AM

The Way Death is Discussed

I have to say that my favorite thing about this book was how heartbreaking it was. I was reading this book on the subway and was so afraid that I was about to cry in front of a ton of strangers. I feel that the author did a really amazing job of putting the pain of losing a loved one into words in a way that I have never seen before. I literally felt my heart breaking in someone the chapters. If you are looking for a good book to make you cry, but also smile in the end, then check this one out.

The Secondary Characters

Although there was not a ton of development with characters like Amanda, Luke, and Gabby, I really enjoyed having them in the story. I was worried when I started to read this book that it was going to be way to focused on only Tara and Justin, but I was pleasantly surprised! I loved the conflict between Amanda, Gabby, and Tara. I thought that it added a more realistic storyline to a pretty paranormal story.  I also really enjoyed the minor love triangle that ensued between Luke, Justin, and Tara. I thought that it was really interesting to hear Tara’s thoughts about overcoming grief and mourning while Luke was involved in her life.

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 9.59.21 AM

The Lack of a Love Story

When I picked up this book it said slight paranormal elements, and I think that was an understatement. In my personal opinion I thought that the love story between Justin and Tara was not nearly developed enough for the reader to completely feel the pain that both of them are going through after Justin’s death. It seemed almost too soon, and I honestly can not say that I really “knew” them as a couple. If there was one thing I would change to this book, I would add more about their story before all of the paranormal elements.

The Emphasis on Reliance 

I don’t have much to say about this, but I think that this book showcased a young girl who was super reliant on her boyfriend. We really learned more about Justin then we do about Tara. I thought it was a little sad that she really could not understand living without Justin.

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 2.45.46 PM

Love in life or death

Justin and Tara will share

Too much reliance

Screen Shot 2014-11-24 at 9.26.20 AM

  • If you are looking for a real romance story, this is not the book for you.
  • There is a lot more emphasis on the Paranormal then is led on to believe.
  • The characters a really enjoyable to read about
  • The ending is super good!
  • I recommend this book to:
    • Any beginners to Paranormal YA
    • Someone who enjoys a more talking and less description
  • I enjoyed this book!

 

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 7.51.47 PM

Screen Shot 2014-11-16 at 3.18.42 PM

Unknown

Are you planning on reading this book? If you have already read it what do you think?

One thought on “Maximum Review- The In Between by Olivia Pierce

  1. Pingback: Monday Thoughts: Why Should I Try to Read ARCs? | Maximum Reads

Leave a Reply

